1. Home
  2. Secure Chat
  3. User Guide
  4. Features
  5. Hide contacts and chat sessions

Hide contacts and chat sessions

This feature makes your contacts and chat sessions invisible in-app and accessible only entering a preset PIN code.

 One PIN code to protect all types of data: contacts, personal and group chat sessions

 The P2P and Group chats with a hidden contact become automatically hidden.

Quick access to hidden data by entering the PIN in the search field

The PIN can be changed anytime without losing information, but resetting it will result in deleting all the hidden information.

With this in mind, let’s proceed to set the PIN and use it to hide contacts and chat sessions.

Hide/unhide contacts

Hide a contact

Hiding contacts means making them not visible in the Contact list. To hide a contact, follow the steps:

  1. Open the Contacts tab.
  2. Long press the contact you want to hide. Select Hide contact from the pop-up screen.
    Long press on the contact to open the Options menu
  3. The next screen prompts you to either set a PIN code if you’re a first time user or enter your PIN if you have your code already set.
    Set your PIN

The first time you use the option to hide a contact/chat you need to set a four-digit PIN code. For every other contact or chat, you want to hide, a window will pop up asking to “enter PIN.” Note that for security purposes, when entering a PIN, the keyboard order is mixed.

Unhide a hidden contact

To access the menu with all hidden contacts:

  1. Open the Contacts tab.
  2. Tap and type the full PIN code in the search field. From here you can open a hidden contact and start a chat session.

Hide/unhide chat sessions

Hide a chat session

By default, the application restricts the display of all messages from a hidden contact and a group chat when at least one of the participant is a hidden contact. Also, you can hide a chat session with a contact which is not hidden.

To do so:

  1. Open the chat and tap in the upper-right corner.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select Hide chat or Hide group for a P2P or a group chat respectively.
    Options menu in a group chat
  3. Enter your PIN.

The chat is now hidden.

NOTE

Although the app completely hides the conversation itself, all the exchanged files are stored by default in the Shared Media and Files folder.

Open a hidden chat

All hidden conversations are stored in a separate invisible chat list. To access the list with all hidden chat sessions, type your PIN code in the Search field of the Recent Chats tab. Open the chat session and continue your conversation.

Unhide a hidden chat

To unhide a chat (to be displayed in the Recent Chats tab), first, you need to open it.

1. Tap , and select Unhide chat from the drop-down menu.

2. Enter your PIN. The chat session will appear in the Recent Chats tab.

Receive and read messages from a hidden contact/hidden chats

The application notifies you only of the number of the new messages from a hidden contact, without a mention of the sender’s name.

To read the message from a hidden contact:

  1. Tap on the notification, and you’ll be redirected to the Recent Chats tab, or open the app. The new message(s) from hidden contacts are not displayed in the list.
  2. Tap , and enter the PIN code in the search field.

The list with all hidden chats/contacts will appear. The one with new notification will show a bubble with the number of new messages received {1,2…9+}

3. Tap the item to open it.

This procedure works in the same manner on Contacts List and Recent Chats.

Change your PIN

To change your PIN, go to Go to Settings > Security > Change PIN. Enter your current PIN and the new one twice. That’s it: your new PIN is set. Your hidden contacts and past messages can be accessed with the new PIN.

Reset your PIN

To reset your PIN code, go to Settings > Security > Reset PIN. Note that resetting the PIN will delete all existing hidden chats and contacts.

Updated on September 25, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles