1. Home
  2. Secure Chat
  3. User Guide
  4. Features
  5. Managing contacts in Secure Chat

Managing contacts in Secure Chat

NOTE

Secure Chat uses the security concept of only allowing communication between approved and consenting users. To chat and make calls with another Secure Chat user(s), you first need to send them a contact request, and they will need to accept it. Follow the link to learn how to add contacts in Secure Chat.

Find your favorites/contacts

The Contacts tab lists all your contacts, including those from Secure Chat, Secure Email, and other email services. As it can contain contacts from multiple sources, It’s helpful to know which contact is available to chat and which you can only email. Our contact status icons help you differentiate them from first sight. These icons appear in the top left corner of the contact avatar. Below we’ll cover what each icon means, and more.

The Contact tab

  • The avatars of your Favorite contacts are presented with tiles on top, and you can swipe left and right to find one.
  • External contacts are presented with their avatars only; there is no status icon.
  • The Secure Chat contacts are ordered alphabetically:
    Connection request accepted(secure) – The contacts you are connected on Secure Chat.
    Tap on a secure contact to open the Chat screen, from where you can send an encrypted message or make an encrypted voice or video call.
    awaiting approval

(pending)  – Contacts who haven’t yet accepted your invitation to connect on Secure Chat; until they do, you can only email them. Tap the contact to send an email.

Basic operations

  • Тo search in the contact list, tap .
  • To see who’s online, tap  .
  • To open a chat session with a secure contact or send an email to a non-Secure Chat one, tap on a contact.
  • For more options, including edit, delete or hide a contact, as well as to view contact’s profile and clear chat history, long-press on a contact.

View a contact’s profile

There are two ways to access a contact’s profile:

  • In the Contacts tab, long-press on the contact, then tap the info button.
  • On the chat screen, tap on the contact’s name.

Edit a contact

There are two ways to edit a contact:

  • In the Contacts tab, long-press on a contact and select Edit Contact.
  • On the chat screen, tap on the contact’s name, then tap .

Add/change a contact picture

  1. In the Contacts tab, long-press on a contact and select Edit Contact.
  2. On the Edit Contact screen, tap .
  3. Select an action: take a picture to add with your device camera, or add an existing image from your gallery.

The rest of the process follows typical behavior for such tasks on Android devices.

Delete a contact

There are two ways to delete a contact:

  • In your contact list, long-press the contact and select Delete contact.
  • On the chat screen with the contact, tap on their username at the top of the screen. Then, tap .

Add a contact to Favorites

There are two ways to add a contact to your Favorites list:

  • In your contact list, long-press on the contact you want to add to Favorites and tap  to open the contact’s profile. Then, tap tap to add/remove a favorite contactat the top.
  • On the chat screen with the contact, tap their username at the top of the screen. Then, tapTap to add/remove a favorite contact.

Manage favorite contacts

The favorite contacts are managed the same way as the rest of the items in your contact list.

  • Tap on a favorite contact to open a chat session with options to call, send a text message, picture, video, or audio message.
  • Long-press on a favorite contact to access more options, including delete, edit, clear history, view profile, or hide.

 

Updated on March 8, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles