Message History Mode

Secure Chat allows you to apply a history mode only to a particular chat session. This feature is called Message History Mode and can be set directly from the chat screen. To do so:

  1. Open the chat and tap   .
  2. The Message History Mode menu opens. Choose from the available options:

  • Save History: select this mode to store chat history.
  • Do not Save History: select this mode never to store chat history.
  • For Your Eyes Only (FYEO): select this mode to set your outbound messages to self-destruct.

Selecting the FYEO mode opens a screen to configure the time interval of FYEO and TTL.

IMPORTANT

As FYEO and TTL messages self-destruct, please read Using the FYEO and TTL modes first.

Activate FYEO

  1. Set the FYEO timer. Slide your finger along the FYEO scale and choose an interval between 10 seconds and 1 hour.
  2. Set Time To LIve to “Not set”.
  3. Tap Set.

Activate FYEO

Activate TTL

  1. Set For Your Eyes Only timer to “Not set”.
  2. Select a Time To LIve period from 1 hour to 1 week by sliding your finger along the TTL scale.
  3. Tap Set.

Activate both TTL and FYEO

  1. Select an FYEO interval from 10 seconds to 1 hour.
  2. Select a TTL period from 1 hour to 1 week.
  3. Tap Set.
ALERT

If a Message History Mode is not selected, the Default History Mode set in the Settings menu is applied to all chat sessions.

 

 

 

 

Updated on November 7, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles