Secure Email Settings

The Settings menu allows you access to the keystore, device administration, and general app settings. To access it, go to Menu > Settings.

Global

The Global settings include:

  • Language
    Select your preferred language. The following screen displays the supported languages.
  • Font size
    Select the font size. Changing the font size value will adjust the text across all screens in-app. Moreover, please be aware that emails with larger font sizes are easier to read by others around you.
  • Default account
    This option is visible only when you use multiple accounts on you Secure Email app. Here you can set the default account.

Keystore settings

Keystore settings

  • Computer sync
    Select this option to enable key syncing with a PC. Note that this option requires the use of additional software.
  • Use cached keys
    This option provides a way to bypass key verification at server-side and speeds up the key retrieval process. Please, note that it may produce errors when you decide to change your keys. Furthermore, it can ultimately result in a security vulnerability.
  • Key update flow
    Add a new key to keystore.

Device administration

Device administration settings allow you to add more security restrictions to accessing Secure Email on your device.

  • Manual Wipe Settings
    This option allows you to configure ”remote wipe” on your device by receiving a “special” email containing a wipe password. Whenever your Secure Email device receives this special “wipe” message, your entire device data will be deleted without warning.
    You are allowed to select whether the wipe email can be received from any email address or a single email address you have specified here.
Configure remote device wipe in Secure Email

  1. Open Secure Email > Menu > Settings.
  2. Scroll down to Device Administration and tap Manual Wipe Settings.
  3. Input your wipe password. The format of the wipe message is as follows: WIPE [the wipe password you choose here].
    Wipe settings
  4. In this step, you authorize an email address to perform remote data wipe on your device. You must either add a particular email address (could be any email address) or select the option to allow wipe device from any email address.

  • If you select any email address, any email address can send you a wipe email. You just need to provide the wipe password to whomever you trust.
  • If you choose to specify a single email address, only this address can send you a wipe email. Remove the tick from the box and enter the email address from which you can receive wipe emails.

Whatever you choose, you must disclose the wipe password to all authorized parties.

5. Tap OK to finalize the process.

ALERT

Once configured, this feature cannot be deactivated. This means that if you enable remote wipe, you cannot remove it as a configuration, and you cannot change it unless you reinstall Secure Email app. Therefore, activate this feature only if wiping all data on your device is essential to your privacy.

  • App Lock
    This option allows you to set a password to provide on each attempt to open Secure Email after being idle (working in the background) for more than a predefined period.
    Naturally, this means that after that predefined period expires, you must provide this password to be able again to use the app.
    With that said, this configuration allows you to enable/disable the App lock feature.
Enable App lock

Tap App lock. A new panel appears and prompts you to enter and confirm the App lock password.

Enable App Lock

  1. Enter and confirm the password.
  2. Tap and select from the predefined periods of time

Select an app lock interval

  1. Select a value from the list and tap OK. This is it: App lock is now enabled.

IMPORTANT!

Be careful when creating your password and make sure to memorize it or have it stored somewhere. Also, remember that if you enter an incorrect password more than five times, Secure Email will be deleted from your device. What’s more, your entire device may be wiped when Device Wipe is activated.

Disable App lock

You can only disable App lock after it has been enabled (the corresponding toggle switch should be in off position).

  1. Tap App Lock. The familiar panel appears and prompts you to enter and confirm the App lock password.
  2. Enter your App lock password and tap OK.

This is it: App lock is now disabled.

Change App lock password

To change your App lock password, you must provide the current one and enter a new one. Tap OK, and this is it: App lock is now active with your newly chosen password.

Debugging

Select this option to send debugging info to Secure Group. This info allows us to improve future versions of the Secure Email app.

Updated on September 26, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles