1. Home
  2. Secure Email
  3. FAQs
  4. What to expect after updating to Secure Email v1.33.0?

What to expect after updating to Secure Email v1.33.0?

This FAQ article covers general questions about the new features and capabilities, introduced in Secure Email v1.33.0, as well as questions related to the merged contact flow with Secure Chat.

What is Security Lock and when is it requested?

Security Lock is a passcode, which is going to replace two previously used passwords, the Key Word and the App Lock.

You need to provide it each time you want to

  • encrypt or decrypt an email
  • unlock the app after a timeout
  • log into the app

When and how do I set my Security Lock?

You will be asked to set your Security Lock just after updating the app to v1.33.0. The process is straightforward, just choose the passcode type (PIN or password) and enter the string. It should be at least four characters long.

Security Lock takes effect immediately after you press the Done button. And this is the password you need to fill in to access the app.

How will the auto-lock be affected?

Please note that the update will not change your auto-lock settings. The auto-lock interval you have set with the previous version will remain the same. If auto-lock was disabled with v1.32.x, after the update, it will remain disabled. To unlock the app, you will only have to enter your Security Lock passcode instead of your unlock password.

How to encrypt/decrypt emails with Security Lock?

If you already have an encryption key, the app will prompt you to enter your Security Lock on the first attempt to encrypt or decrypt an email with it. When done, Security Lock will replace the Key Word of the key in use. The latter will be securely deleted, as it’s not needed anymore. From that moment on, Security Lock becomes a shortcut to the Passphrase of the currently used key, and you can use it to encrypt and decrypt messages quickly.

Following this pattern, you can replace all your Key Words with your Security Lock. This is particularly useful if you use multiple accounts on your Secure Email app, as it will allow you to exchange emails securely from all your accounts with just one passcode.

Is Security Lock for Secure Email different from Security Lock for Secure Chat and Secure Vault?

Yes, it is. A Security Lock passcode is set independently for each app. Thence, Security Lock for Secure Email is set and used only within our email client. It must be at least four characters long as it will be mainly used to encrypt and decrypt emails quickly.

On the other hand, Security Lock for Secure Chat gives access only to our IM app and the resources (chat history, exchanged files) that reside in it.

Also, Security Lock for Secure Vault is a separate password, which gives access only to our encrypted container app and files stored in it.

What happens if I forget my Security Lock?

On Secure Phone, ten incorrect inputs of Security Lock will wipe the device data. If you use the app on an Android smartphone, after ten incorrect inputs only the app data will be deleted. Security Lock is a passcode which is set up and managed by the user and nobody else. We do not store any user data. Therefore, the Security Lock cannot be reset. You can only change it in the app’s settings.

How does the unified address book work?

Previously, you had two separate contact lists for our Secure Email and Secure Chat applications, with no option for synchronization. For example, after you had added a contact in Secure Email, it didn’t get automatically transferred to Secure Chat, and you had to add it manually.

With Secure Chat v2.2.0 and Secure Email v1.33.0, you have one address book for all your contacts. When you attempt to add or edit a contact in Secure Email, the app will redirect you to Secure Chat where all contact information will be stored. What’s more, each new contact added through Secure Email will automatically receive an invitation to connect on Secure Chat, too. The contact will be listed in the Secure Chat address book with a pending status, which means that you’ll only be able to email this person once they accept your invitation.

Due to the unified contact flow, deleting a contact in Secure Email or Secure Chat will remove the contact from both apps.

 

 

Updated on March 1, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles