1. Home
  2. Secure Chat
  3. User Guide
  4. Features
  5. Using Security Lock in Secure Chat

Using Security Lock in Secure Chat

Security Lock is a passcode, that is set right after signing in to the app and used to unlock the app and encrypt/decrypt its data (history and attachments). Therefore, it is required on every login and app unlock after a timeout, as well as after updating.

IMPORTANT

After 10 wrong inputs of the Security Lock, the app data will be wiped. 

Auto-lock timeout

You can set a timer to your app so that it locks automatically after a certain period of inactivity. This is especially useful if you want to make sure no one can access your data.

By default, the app lock period is set to “Never” which means that the auto-lock feature is disabled. To activate it, you need to select a timeout interval. To do so:

  1. Go to Settings, in the Chat Security group, tap Lock Chat if idle for.

Set an auto-lock period

  1. Choose an interval between 1 and 60 minutes.

Choose auto-lock interval

When the selected period expires, you will have to use your Security Lock passcode to unlock the app.

Enter your Security Lock to unlock the app

Instant (manual) app lock

In the case of an emergency, you can instantly lock the app. To do so, open the navigation drawer and tap Lock.

Tap Lock to instantly lock the app

How to change Security Lock?

To change your Security Lock:
1. Go to Settings, in the Chat Security group, tap Change Security Lock.
Change Security Lock

2. Enter your current Security Lock and choose the type of the new one: PIN or Password.
3. Enter the new passcode and re-enter to confirm it.
4. Tap Set.

 

Updated on December 13, 2017

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles