Secure Vault on Secure Phone

Secure Vault is an encrypted container with a built-in note editor. The app is available only for Secure Phone and fully compatible with the Secure Chat app. It allows you to:

  Write and edit encrypted notes

  Save text messages from Secure Chat to Secure Vault as encrypted notes

  Save media files transferred through Secure Chat in an encrypted format

  Back up the contents of the container

Initial setup

In order to use Secure Vault, you just need to set your Security Lock, a passcode that unlocks the app and encrypts its data.

  1. Select the lock method:
  • PIN – at least four digits
  • Password – consists of numbers and letters, between 4 and 32 symbols

Set Security Lock for Vault

  1. Enter your Security Lock and re-enter to confirm it.
  2. Tap Set.

Once set, Security Lock is required each time you try to access the app. After 10 incorrect inputs of Security Lock, your Secure Phone device will be wiped.

ALERT

A Security Lock passcode is set independently for each app. This means that your Security Lock for Secure Vault is different from the one you use for Secure Chat.

When you access the Secure Vault app for the first time, the container is empty. Otherwise, the home screen lists all your encrypted files, ordered by date.

When access the Vault app for the first time, the container is empty

Write an encrypted note

  1. Open the Secure Vault app.
  2. Enter your Security Lock to access Secure Vault.
  3. Tap Take a note…
  4. Start writing and appears in the top right corner.

Creating a note in the Vault app

  1. Tap to save the note.

Notes are saved in .txt format and listed on the home screen, from where you can perform basic management actions, like delete and rename.

Edit notes

  1. Tap on a note to open it, and start editing.

Editing a note in the Vault app

  1. When ready, tap .

Delete and rename files

  1. On the Secure Vault home screen, find the file you want to delete or rename.

  2. Tap next to the filename, and select the desired action.
    Rename and Delete options are accessible by pressing the more icon

Delete multiple files

The first item gets selected using a long tap. Any subsequent tap will select more items. You can also deselect items, which were previously selected, with a single tap.

Bulk delete items in VaultWhen ready with the selection, tap to delete the selected items.

Sort and filter files

Both options are accessible from the Secure Vault home screen.

 

On the Secure Vault home screen, tap and choose the sorting order:

  • by name A-Z
  • by date modified
  • by size

On the Secure Vault home screen, tap and select from the following filtering options:

  • Text notes
  • Photos
  • Videos
  • Audio messages
  • Other files

Back up the contents of the container

The backup feature in Secure Vault archives the current contents of the encrypted container and uploads the backup in SAS. By backing up your data on SAS, you ensure that your valuable files and notes stay safe and won’t get lost in case your device is wiped.

ALERT!

SAS only keeps a single backup (the latest) per Secure Phone device. Each new backup will overwrite the previous.

Create a backup

  1. When in the Secure Vault app, tap in the top right corner of the screen. Then, tap Backup.

Tab the more icon top right to access more features.

  1. Tap the plus icon to create a new backup.
    This will back up all files currently in the container.

Tap the plus icon to back up the current contents of the container.

  1.  Set a backup password, at least 4 characters. Then, tap Backup.

Set a backup password

  1. The backup is created and automatically uploaded to SAS. Tap OK on the success message.
    With Vault Backup, the current date is used as a filename. See how to rename your backup.

Backup uploaded to SAS

  1. Enter your Security Lock to unlock the app.
    To access your backup, tap more, then Backup.

Restore files from a backup

  1. To access your backup, tap , then Backup.

Tap Backup to access your latest Vault backup

  1. Your latest backup appears. Tap Download & Restore.

Tap Download&Restore

  1. Enter your backup password.
    Any backup can be restored only with the password used for its creation.

Enter your backup password

  1. Tap the Back  button.
  2. The container is now locked. Enter your Security Lock to unlock it.
    The restored files appear on the main screen.

Delete a backup

On the Backup screen, tap  and select Delete.

Rename a backup

On the Backup screen, tap  and select Rename.

Change Security Lock for Secure Vault

  1. When in the Secure Vault app, tap in the top right corner of the screen. Then tap Change Security Lock.

Tab the three dots icon to access more features.

  1. Enter your current Security Lock and choose the type of the new one: PIN or Password.
  2. Enter the new passcode and re-enter to confirm it.
  3. Tap Set.
IMPORTANT

Uninstalling the Secure Vault app from Settings will delete all files in the container.

Updated on April 10, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Still Need Help?
If you need any further help, don't hesitate to send a support request to our support team.
CONTACT SUPPORT